Exercise In Focal Lengths (With zoom or Interchangeable lenses)

This exercise was to demonstrate the effect of focal length on subject and surroundings.

I was lucky to have dry weather but the light was less then dynamic or inspirational. The original researched subject I was going to use for this exercise was obscured when I arrived but because I was with an enabler I had to compromise with this alternative.

The exercise required us to find a fixed spot and take images at various focal lengths.

My starting focal length was 135mm. 135mm was chosen purely due to the fact I couldn’t move far enough back to use 200mm and keep the subject within the frame. However this still left me with plenty of room to demonstrate the effect.

As you can see in CB43 @ 135mm below that the boat is tightly fitting in the frame. The benefit is that I am able to exclude anything else out of the frame.

Through CB42 – CB37 you can clearly see the boat is becoming less dominant in the frame and the surrounding landscape becomes more apparent. The general composition can be held until CB38 where the composition is so weak that a complete change in composition is needed. CB38 was @ 26mm. I flipped the camera to Landscape where the boat become part of a scene rather then the dominant subject and seen in CB37.

Leave a Reply

