CB/40 – Colour accent.

CB/40 - Colour accent.

ISO 200, f/18, 1/250, 150mm. To see larger image: http://wp.me/p3RVOB-11b

Colour accent:

I’ve tried to experiment with how colour accents could work in different ways rather then just going for the easier option of a red tractor in a green field. A shaft of light hits the scene revealing an intense area of orange that lifts the foreground. This technique can be seen in Joe Cornish’s ‘Upper Swaledale’(www.joeCornishgallery.com).

Tutor response:
I like this shot very much – probably the best of the set for me – but I think you’re pushing the definition of accent here. The patch of light on the left embankment is too similar in colour its surroundings. But the composition string with good use of perspective, and the image has such a painterly feel to it with the subtle grey sky and the strong tones of the grassy embankments.

My response:
I thought you might say that!.. but I wanted to experiment none the less.

Leave a Reply

