Exercise 5: Weather Through The Day.

At the time of writing I am sitting looking out at torrential rain and a gale blowing. This has been the theme for January and into February with no let up.

The other issue with this exercise is the requirement to take a photograph every hour through the day in sunlight.  Due to health and weather it is unlikely I will be able to follow this through. Instead I will bring out some of my historic landscape images where shadow/ light and white balance were all very important.  Please find these historic images under the weather map.

If there is a break in the weather then I will reconsider.  For now here is a weather map of where I am and the latest storm:Image

Update:

So I have had to make my excuses for not being able to meet one of the exercise requirements.  My tutor fully understands personal reasons and added national crisis regarding storms/hurricanes/ severe flooding. The sun must be up there somewhere but nowhere to be seen and not due to be seen for a very long time.

 However, the exercise itself is not anything new to me and ‘colours’ of light, times of day and shadow fall is a subject I have visited many times.
I am not somebody who believes there is a correct time of day to be out taking photographs. There are better times then others for many situations but, unless we are lucky enough to be able to study every farmers/ shipping/ lunar chart and plan ahead we have to make  the most of what we have at the times when we can explore the big wide World.  Obviously I speak as an amateur and this would probably be quite different for a professional who need to fulfil any given brief.  Needless to say that sunrise and golden hour can produce very pretty and rewarding light.
Because the weather conditions are totally inappropriate for studying colour of light and shadow fall, I have resorted to looking in my library from last year where I found some landscapes I have taken whilst alone and some that I took whilst undertaking 1 -1 landscape tuition with Mark Lakemen.
I have spent a couple of half days on Exmoor last year with Mark Lakeman doing exactly what this exercise requires us to do.  So I have decided to bring these landscape images in and talk about them instead.  Many have now been deleted so I don’t possess hour to hour progression but there is enough to make the point. Of course I didn’t stay in the same place all day either but we can see that in each image the light temperature alters drastically between early afternoon and sunset.
The first images though are my own in Late Autumn light:
1.  Here I have taken full advantage of low morning soft light and long shadows being cast and this clearly wouldn’t have worked so well had the light been higher. There are technical difficulties here with lens flare.
_DSC6671
2.  This image was used for my last assignment. I am not normally up early so had to pull this one back out.
_DSC2712 1
3. Taken in November this was early afternoon. The dynamic range was hell and there is an awful lot of bringing down of highlights and lifting of shadows. But, nevertheless it shows dramatic light. The sun is high so the side of Mount Snowdon isn’t cast in shadow. This image couldn’t have worked at sunrise.
_DSC8143
4. Leaping ahead to May. This is with Mark Lakeman where we were looking at sun position and shadow in composition.  A high sun at about 2pm gave me a central shadow. The light isn’t particularly pretty though.
_DSC0604
5. 30 minutes later a slight shift in white balance can be seen. In this image I have slightly enhanced in edit.
_DSC0606
6. Approx 3pm on the same day.
_DSC0627
7. Just at 6.30pm the light is starting to drop and soften. Shadows are forming and colour is enhancing.  We were looking at the red of this roof in particular.
_DSC0660
8. 7.50pm.  The light is now at it’s optimum for this scene.
_DSC0726
9. The shadow is now covering the main feature of the image.
_DSC0827
And finally.
On a different day at golden hour with Mark Lakeman we worked at this location to specifically look at shadow and light.
These are not edited other then a crop.
10. Light dropping but hitting the front face of Bowerman’s nose cleanly.
_DSC9638
11. Optimum light and shadow combination.
_DSC9644
Edited version
_DSC9644
Leave a Reply

